The United Kingdom has left the European Union

On 1 February 2020, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland left the European Union. At the end of 2020, the transitional period for maintaining relations between the United Kingdom and the European Union on the current terms terminated. Below we present information about changes after January 1, 2021:

  1. The exchange of students and employees of the University of Warsaw under the Erasmus+ programme will take place on the same terms until the end of the 2021/2022 academic year. This means that British universities will continue to accept students and employees of the University of Warsaw on the basis of Erasmus+ agreements. Participants leaving for the UK will be entitled to a subsidy for the costs of living in connection with their stay in the destination country.
  2. The UK government plans to implement a new academic mobility program – the Alan Turing (Turing Scheme). Detailed information on the new program is not known yet.
  3. Until 30 September 2021, it will be possible to cross the British border on the basis of a valid identity card. After this date, it will be possible to cross the borders only on the basis of a valid passport. Moreinformation:
  4. Persons holding an EHIC will continue to be able to benefit from healthcare services during their temporary stay in the territory of the United Kingdom under the existing rules. More information:

If the planned length of stay in the UK is over 6 months, you will need to apply for a student visa. More information in the brochure „The UK’s points-based immigration system. An introduction for EU students ”and on the website

Data publikacji: 03 lutego 2021